Celtic Woman: Songs From the Heart

Photo Courtest of EMI Music/Manhattan Records
Photo Courtest of EMI Music/Manhattan Records

“Celtic Woman: Songs From the Heart” is a collection of contemporary and traditional songs performed in a haunting style by four singers and a violinist. The songs, which consist primarily of ballads, include familiar tunes such as “Amazing Grace,” “Fields of Gold,” and “You’ll Be in My Heart.” There is also the more spirited, “Níl Sé’n Lá,” which is my personal favorite of the collection.

The women sing in pure, high tones and the music is simply beautiful, but the CD still left me wanting more. With the exception of the aforementioned Gaelic-inspired song, “Níl Sé’n Lá,” the music seemed more like something I’d hear at an Irish funeral than what I’d enjoy listening to at home. I kept hoping for just one more lively tune to showcase the violin and make me want to dance or sing along. There just isn’t enough personality infused into the music.

For those who love nothing more than a well-sung ballad, Celtic Woman: Songs From the Heart should be high on your wish list. It really is a pretty collection of songs. Unfortunately, for me it’s more lullaby than entertainment.

Here is the complete song list:

  1. Fields Of Gold
  2. Amazing Grace
  3. Níl Sé’n Lá
  4. My Lagan Love
  5. When You Believe
  6. The New Ground
  7. Isle Of Hope, Isle Of Tears
  8. The Coast Of Galiçia
  9. Non C’è Più
  10. The Moon’s A Harsh Mistress
  11. You’ll Be In My Heart
  12. Goodnight My Angel
  13. Galway Bay
  14. The Lost Rose Fantasia
  15. O, America!

* Disclosure: I received a copy of this CD for review purposes. There was no promise of a positive review and the opinions above are  my own

5 Responses to Celtic Woman: Songs From the Heart

Leave a reply